HomeAbout UsEnvironmentEconomicCommunityTransportation/CommuterData, Statistics & Maps

  Development & Planning



    Hazard Mitigation


        Affordable Housing

        Foothills Housing

    Planning Workshops

        Water Resources

        Orange - 2013

        The Plains

        Sustainable Agriculture


        Living Lands








    Regional Visioning






2005 RRRC Living Towns:  Village of Marshall


"A Town that Works "
July 13, 2005

Marshall United Methodist Church Social Hall
Marshall, VA
8:30am to 3:30pm

The fourth annual RRRC Living Towns Planning Workshop was held on July 13, 2005 in the Village of Marshall and provided insightful and entertaining discourse on the theme of the workshop - A Town that Works. Three panels of speakers discussed wide-ranging topics, including Grassroots Capacity Building, Bicycle/Pedestrian Corridor Suitability Assessments and Traffic Calming strategies. Meeting attendees were also given an opportunity to join the Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation for a walking tour around the village of Marshall and the day ended with a reception at the Fauquier Heritage & Preservation Foundation Building in Marshall.

Village of Marshall Living Towns Brochure

Workshop Agenda

Presentation materials are available for selected panelists below. All files are in .pdf format.

Welcome & Introductions
Dr. Norris Royston, Marshall District Citizens Planning Committee
Harry Atherton, Vice Chair, Fauquier County Board of Supervisors

Panel #1

Moderator: Rick Carr, Fauquier County Planning Director
Jack LaMonica, Chair, Fauquier County Architectural Review Board (presentation)
Susan Van Wagoner, Executive Director, Route 50 Corridor Coalition
Charlie Moore, Town Manager, Mount Jackson, VA (presentation)

Panel #2
Moderator: Peter Schwartz, Marshall District Citizens Planning Committee
Ursula Lemanski, Manager, NPS Rivers & Trails Conservation Assistance Program (presentation)
Liz Belcher, Greenway Coordinator, Roanoke County (presentation)
Jennifer Toole, President, Toole Design Group (presentation)

Panel #3
Moderator: Bob Sinclair, President, Fauquier Heritage & Preservation Foundation
Paul Lawrence, Marshall District Citizens Planning Committee (presentation)
Kevin Fry, President, Scenic America
Rebecca Abecassis, Engineering Technician, VDOT Culpeper District (presentation)
Doug Stanley, Warren County Administrator/Planning Director (presentation)

Joan Fries, President, Marshall Business & Residents Association

Sponsoring Organizations

Marshall Business & Residents Association
Fauquier County
Marshall National Bank & Trust Company
Fauquier Heritage & Preservation Foundation
Virginia Department of Transportation
Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission




Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission
420 Southridge Parkway • Suite 106 • Culpeper, VA  22701 • Tel: (540) 829-7450 • Fax: (540) 829-7452

E-mail:  planinfo@rrregion.org